Svadhisthana ~ Sacral Chakra


The second chakra in the system is the sacral chakra.  It’s stoked by pleasure and joy.  This is where we indulge from. It is a natural experience of living organisms to move away from pain and towards pleasure.

At some point, our society missed the memo – treating our bodies and our lives as ‘beasts of burden’.

It’s time for a shift.  Towards balance.  Embrace pleasure, your sensuality, and each others desires.  Live a full life rooted in joy.

Svadhisthana translates as “my own sweet abode.”  The sacral chakra is where we form ideas around self- worth and deservedness.  Balance is key for this chakra to function.  Balancing work and play, effort and ease, dreaming and manifestation, desire and gratitude.

It’s important to take time to indulge in the simple pleasures of life.  What is it that you desire?  Once we have our basic needs met (root chakra) we’re able to explore what it is that brings us joy.

It is said that the sacral chakra is the birthplace of creativity, which shows up as our ability to see the life that we want – and that we know we deserve – and to implement the steps necessary to achieve that life.  A balanced second chakra will indulge in pleasure and will encourage gratitude for the life we already have.

Movement is a big function in keeping this chakra in check.  Repressed emotions are stored throughout the body as karmic imprints and can lead to immobility or feelings of being stuck.  Knowing your emotions, and being able to identify what it is you are feeling are good indicators of a balanced second chakra.  Moving our bodies and expressing our emotions can help free these imprints.  Giving each and every feeling validity, not labelling some emotions as good or bad and sharing emotions in an open and honest way all support a balanced sacral chakra.

This is our seat of sensuality.  Our ability to feel it all.  To smell it all.  Taste it all.  Sensuality can be found in everything you do.  The way you speak, the way you dress, the way you move, the way you chew your food.

Be present.  In your feelings, in the moment, in your body.  Start to make love…to everything.

Guilt inhibits balance in this chakra.

Knowing what brings you joy is not enough; it’s essential to be present and sensuous in the moment.  Taking pleasure while indulging is key.  If you are engaging in the act that brings you joy – for example, eating a piece of cake – but are feeling guilty while eating the piece of cake, the pleasure principle will not be met.  And so, there is a good chance that you will eat another piece of cake, feel guilty about that – and on you go.

Allow yourself to name what it is you desire and to take full pleasure in fulfilling those desires.

Brene Brown says that “Cultivation of joy and gratitude is the way home.”

The quick facts:
Location: Two inches below the navel and into the pelvis
Sense:  Taste
Element:  Water
Colour:  Orange
Body parts:  Hips, sacrum, low back, genitals, bladder, sex organs

Tips to balance:
Wear orange
Get in water – flowing water if you can, but if not, take a bath
Keep a gratitude journal – at the end of each day write down three things you’re grateful for
Make love – to everything.  (Literally and metaphorically)
Eat slowly and enjoy every bite.
Move!  Swim, dance, practice yoga.

Much love,


You Might Also Like


  • Reply
    coupon codes airbnb
    August 26, 2016 at 4:52 am

    I found your blog web site on google and test a few of your early posts. Continue to maintain up the superb operate. I simply extra up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Looking for forward to studying extra from you later on!…

    • Reply
      August 31, 2016 at 5:04 pm

      Thanks for taking the time to comment!
      Did you download the e-book?? It’s beautifully designed, and lots of good info inside.

    Leave a Reply